Dodaj do ulubionych

Purpose of articles, why is it REALLY needed?

27.12.05, 23:48
I thought it would be interesting to hear what native english speakers have
to say about use of articles. Why do you use them? Because for people to
who'm english is a second language seems that english use articles because
otherwise they would have to twist their tounges....

yoric napisał:

> The Hague. Some 2 days ago an Englishman complained to me that (pre-
> intermediate) Polish learners of English tend to never use articles,

I'll be the devil's advocate!
No kidding!! When I started studying english, an articles such as "the",
or "an" seemed to me useless and not needed. Of course now, after years of
living in USA I know better; articles make speech smoother and more fluent.
But the fact is that for most Poles it seems "useless", given that by itself
it has no use.

But seriously what would happen if where was no articles in the spoken
english, would englisman be chokeing or bitting their tounges, because of the
lack of fill in words (articles)?

Obserwuj wątek
    • ianek70 Re: Purpose of articles, why is it REALLY needed? 28.12.05, 00:02
      waldek1610 napisał:

> I thought it would be interesting to hear what native english speakers have
      > to say about use of articles.

Probably the same as native Polish speakers say when you ask them the
      difference between poczekać and zaczekać.
      That it's sort of the same but one sounds more natural in this context and it's
      hard to explain why.
        • ianek70 Re: Purpose of articles, why is it REALLY needed? 28.12.05, 18:20
          russh napisał:

> Hi Ian,
          >
          > Welcome back - how did xmas in the country go?

Better than I'd expected smile
          I still have my doubts about the Polish countryside, but at least I heard a
          cow, and was told there's a hill nearby.
          And it wasn't too Christmassy, apart from the food, which was different from